Tillman, Graham, Forte Rookie Pro Bowlers

NFL Pro Bowl rosters were announced yesterday, with the Chicago Bears honorees being:

Brian Urlacher (Eighth)
Lance Briggs (Seventh)
Charles Tillman (First)
Matt Forte (First)
Corey Graham (Special Teamer, First)

Briggs is a perennial honoree, making seven straight appearances since 2005. Pretty impressive. Too bad Urlacher missed the cut in 2004 and 2007-2009, otherwise he would lead by far all Bears in history for Pro Bowl appearances.

I’m pleasantly surprised on the Forte selection. While he was leading the NFL in total yards when he went down with an injury in week 13, the fact that he missed the last four weeks of the season and won’t finish with 1,000 rushing yards would normally preclude a selection.

And I’m most happy for Peanut Tillman. Now in his ninth NFL season, Tillman has exemplified an NFL player both at his position and off the field. Glad to see him finally honored. Exactly why I told the Chicago Sun-Times that I believe he’s the best corner to have played for the Bears since the 1970′s.

One Response to “Tillman, Graham, Forte Rookie Pro Bowlers”

  1. Good to see Tillman in there. Long overdue.

Leave a Reply